HOLY HOLI !!!

Posted: March 3, 2007 in Festival
Tags: , , , , , ,

I love the whole concept of the festival itself. But if there’s one thing I don’t quite like about Holi, it’s the hard-to-remove colours! It annoys me no end that one has to walk around with red heads, blue hair and yellow nails, looking like something out of a horror movie, even a week after Holi !!! Well, here’s some good news for those of you who feel the same way. Say goodbye to the artificial colours and go natural !!!

Holi is India’s festival of colors. It is a Hindu festival but is widely celebrated all across India by people of all faiths. The festival marks the beginning of spring time and usually takes place at the end of March or early April, on the full moon of Purnima, according to the Hindu calendar. On the first day of Holi, bonfires are lit at night. On the second day of Holi, revelers spend the day throwing colored powders, buckets of colored water, and water balloons at each other. This ritual is where Holi gets its name “the festival of colors”. And the riot of colors is the inspiration for this design.

Well, I personally don’t play any holi now, but used to play when I was in school. As of now I’m glad that I got a break from my college !!!

Its like a very HOLY HOLI for me today…lol !!!

Leave a Reply

